The Committee

Assembly approved a third optional protocol on a Communications Procedure, which will allow individual children to submit complaints regarding specific violations of their rights under the Convention and its first two optional protocols. The Protocol opens for signature in 2012 and will enter into force upon ratification by 10 UN Member States.

All States parties are obliged to submit regular reports to the Committee on how the rights are being implemented. States must report initially two years after acceding to the Convention and then every five years. The Committee examines each report and addresses its concerns and recommendations to the State party in the form of “concluding observations”.

The Committee reviews additional reports which must be submitted by States who have acceded to the two Optional Protocols to the Convention.

Shahul Hameed Bin Shaik Dawood


Ibdilillah Ishak

Deputy President

Ezzad Emir

Vice President

Chris Daniel Wong

Vice President

KV Anand

Vice President

Baskaran Devarajan

Technology Specialist

Vivienne Goh

Executive Treasurer

Dailan Bin Mohammad Ravi

Executive Secretary

Ned Mohd

Vice President

Khairul Anuar

Council Member


Council Member


Council Member

Sign Up for Newsletter

Join our news letter and be the first to know about SMC events.